Sublime: 25th Anniversary Reissue

A seminal band in American reggae, will re-release their debut album for this year’s record store day.

When thinking about music coming from the “Golden State” of California, it does not take too long before the band Sublime is mentioned in that elite list. When discussing the state of reggae music in the United States, most pundits point to Sublime as the foundation of American reggae and baton carriers following the Jamaican reggae invasion of Bob Marley and the Wailers in the 1970s.
In the late 1980s, Sublime was an underground sensation, that fans only heard of by word of mouth and at live shows. That all began to change when Sublime released a cassette titled, Jah Won’t Pay the Bills in 1991.

The ten-track album was sold exclusively at Sublime shows out of the trunk of their car. The very first release from Sublime has become an extreme rarity in the reggae-rock community.

Now, with record store day rapidly approaching on April 16, 2016, Sublime’s management and Skunk Records will be re-releasing Jah Won’t Pay the Bills on vinyl for the very first time, as well as in its original form, on cassette.

Jah Won’t Pay the Bills has been remastered from its original form by renowned mastering engineer, Brian Gardner. Gardner is known for his work with Michael Jackson, 2 Pac, Beastie Boys, Eminem and countless others.

The ten-tracks on the album feature Sublime’s earliest recordings and demos from 1989-1991, prior to Sublime’s breakthrough full-length album release, 40 Oz. to Freedom (1992).

Sublime is noted to have some of the most prominent and transcending sounds in modern alternative rock music, and that very sound can be traced back to Jah Won’t Pay the Bills.

With mainstream success coming posthumously for original founding members Bradley Nowell (Vocals/Guitar), Eric Wilson (Bass) and Bud Gaugh (Drums), as well as Marshall “Ras MG” Goodman (Drums/Writer/Producer) and Michael “Miguel” Happoldt (Skunk Records Co-Founder/Producer/Engineer), there is always a new generation rediscovering the timeless music of Sublime. This latest reissue will reach, not only the devoted international following for Sublime, but newfound reggae-rock aficionados 25-years after the album’s first release date.

The reissue of Jah Won’t Pay the Bills will be a limited re-release. Ironically, 420-copies will be printed on green vinyl and cassettes, which will be an independent retail outlet exclusive release on April 16t, 2016.

To purchase this Sublime collectible at a local record store in your area, click here to find the nearest participating music shop in your neck of the woods.

For more information on Sublime, the Jah Won’t Pay the Bills reissue and full track listing, follow the links below.

Jah Won’t Pay the Bills – Track List
1. D.J.s
2. Badfish
3. Let’s Go Get Stoned
4. New Song
5. Had a Dat
6. Don’t Push
7. Ball and Chain
8. Slow Ride
9. Date Rape
10. Live at E’s

Sublime Links

Video: Sublime – “Badfish” (Official Music Video)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *